Taking The Tenth

They took States’ Rights for $1,000.

And they won.

Four local students were awarded second annual Warren County Republican Committee Emory J. Mahan Memorial Scholarships in the amounts of $1,000 last month.

Kiara Morrison and Molly Berardi of Warren Area High School and Katie Chuzie and Samantha Tome of Youngsville High School were the winners of the scholarship contest. They were required to write a “research and opinion piece that would elaborate on the importance of the Tenth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States of America,” WCRC chairman and scholarship committee member Burt Alexander said.

The Tenth Amendment reads: “The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.”

“This year, it was our intent to go a step further than we did the first year of the scholarship offering,” Alexander said. “We chose to not just ask the students to write an opinion piece supporting some specifically conservative topic, but rather to write a more scholarly paper requiring some degree of research and a bit of analytical contrast with current events.”

“As well, of course, we did require an expression of opinion as to why they believe the Tenth Amendment remains as important and viable today as it did when the Founding Fathers saw fit to insert it into our Bill of Rights,” he said.

A five-member selection panel judged the entries from students all over the county.

“As with the scholarship competition last year we were very excited and happy that there were again four winning essays selected as standing clearly apart from the other papers received,” Scholarship Committee member Joe McClellan said.

“This is such a wonderful opportunity for us to not only remember Emory Mahan and his many contributions to the Warren County Republican Committee and our community and county, but also a terrific way to support our local students who are going on to higher education,” WCRC Scholarship Committee Chairman Dave White said. “We wish them all the very best in this next big chapter in their lives.”