Bupp named Region Pitcher of the Year

Warren reached another level from a team standpoint after winning the 2014 District 10 Class AAA Championship on the softball diamond.

The Lady Dragons have earned their share of individual accolades – this year was no exception.

Senior Alexa Bupp capped a stellar high school career by being named Region 7 Pitcher of the Year for the third straight season on Friday. Her teammate and batterymate Paige Wilson earned Co-Player of the Year honors, sharing the title with Fort LeBoeuf senior Jolene Young.

Bupp posted a miniscule 0.61 earned run average in 91 1/3 innings pitched en route to a 13-2 record in the circle. Offensively, the senior hit .455 with 22 RBI and a pair of home runs. Wilson led the team with an impressive .567 average to go along with five home runs in her sophomore season.

Only one other member of the D10 Champion Lady Dragons was awarded postseason recognition. Shortstop Kaitlin Ishman was a first-team all-star after finishing the year with a .463 average, 12 home runs, and 23 runs batted in. The University of Albany signee also had a team-leading 1.717 OPS (on base plus slugging percentage) and six stolen bases.

Wilson, Ishman, and Bupp were also named to the Erie Times-News District 10 All-Star team with Bupp receiving District Player of the Year honors. Eisenhower pitcher Casey Vincent saw his name etched on the All-District baseball squad on Thursday.

The Warren trio anchored a lineup that hit a collective .389 and outscored opponents 186-24. The Lady Dragons rolled through the regular season with a 17-1 record before beating Corry to advance to the D10 title game for the sixth year in a row. There, Warren broke through with a 10-0 victory over Region 7-rival Fort LeBoeuf, winners of the three previous district championships.

Eisenhower senior Ashley Barnett was the lone representative from Warren County on Region 5’s first team. It was the second selection to the all-region team for Barnett, who finished her career as a four-year letterwinner for the Lady Knights.

Barnett was joined by Ike freshman Jocelyn Courtney, a second-team pick at designated player. Youngsville’s Katie Gustafson (third base), Julia Sveda (outfield), and Elyssa Horn (pitcher) also earned spots on the second team.

Region Champion Titusville led the way with eight selections, including Region Player of the Year McKenna Vandervort and Region Pitcher of the Year Jennifer Clark. Here is the complete list of Region 5 and Region 7 All-Stars:

Region 5 All-Stars

First Team

C – Alli Kaliszewski Iroquois 11

1B – Megan Bowser Titusville 12

2B – Marie Johnson Titusville 12

3B – Cynthia Hoover Franklin 12

SS – Becca Mullen Franklin 11

SS – Katie Neely Titusville 12

OF – McKenna Vandervort Titusville 12

OF – Dia Beggs Franklin 11

OF – Ashley Barnett Eisenhower 12

DP – Shianne Donovan Titusville 10

P – Rachel Prather Iroquois 11

P – Izzy Romanowski Franklin 11

P – Jillian Shull Rocky Grove 12

Second Team

C – Amy Clark Titusville 12

1B – Quincey Wood Franklin 12

2B – Brianna Ashley Iroquois 11

3B – Katie Gustafson Youngsville 12

OF – Julia Sveda Youngsville 12

OF – Emily Martin Iroquois 11

OF – Lexi Canavan Iroquois 11

OF – Luellen Foltz Titusville 11

DP – Jocelyn Courtney Eisenhower 9

P – Jennifer Clark Titusville 11

P – Elyssa Horn Youngsville 10

Region champion – Titusville

Region player of the year – McKenna Vandervort, Titusville

Region pitcher of the year – Jennifer Clark, Titusville

Note: There is no second-team SS for Region 5.

Region 7 All-Stars

First Team

C – Paige Wilson Warren 10

1B – Jolene Young Fort LeBoeuf 12

2B – Caitlin Kolb McDowell 12

3B – Gabby Hess Strong Vincent 10

SS – Kaitlin Ishman Warren 12

OF – Lexi Fuller McDowell 12

OF – Crystal Flagg McDowell 12

OF – Tiffani Jones Strong Vincent 12

DP – Rachel Ackman McDowell 12

P – Megan Kraus McDowell 11

P – Alexa Bupp Warren 12

Second Team

C – Kourtney Baker McDowell 11

1B – Jenna Pecar McDowell 11

2B – Allie Ludwig Fort LeBoeuf 9

3B – Kellie Brown Fort LeBoeuf 11

SS – Alex Carroll Fort LeBoeuf 12

OF – Hannah Cass Fort LeBoeuf 10

OF – Courtney Krahe McDowell 12

OF – Erin Erdely Strong Vincent 10

DP – Madeline Breski Mercyhurst Prep 10

Region co-champions – McDowell and Warren

Region co-players of the year – Jolene Young, Fort LeBoeuf and Paige Wilson, Warren

Region pitcher of the year – Alexa Bupp, Warren

Note: Region 7 has no second-team pitchers.