League of Women Voters has election

The annual meeting of the League of Women Voters was held May 21 at the Warren Library. The program was presented by Bruce and Christa Williams and Annette Sivak on a recent trip to the Women’s Rights National Historical Park in Seneca Falls, N.Y. The site is where the first convention was held to demand full and equal rights for women to vote in 1848. Exhibits showed social reform movements, the passage of the 19th Amendment in 1920 and many other historical events relating to equal rights.

New officers elected for the 2014-15 year were: Susan Swab, secretary; Stephanie Scutella, vice president of membership; Michelle Gray, vice president of programs; and nominating committee, Jane Dunshie and Stephanie Scutella. Officers continuing for the new year are Phyllis Wright, president; Christa Williams, treasurer; communications team, Michelle Gray, Stephanie Scutella and Phyllis Wright.

Program plans for the year included: area development and planned development of Warren County and its municipalities government; support of effective issues at local, state and national levels; and education study and action on the concept of equal access to quality education for all Warren County K-12 students. Specific projects include developing a “Know Your County Government” leaflet, increase voter registration and education on voting issues and development of a government directory.

Acknowledgements were given for Jane Dunshie’s organization of the high school voter registration project; and the work of past officers, vice president of membership, Sharon Albrecht, and vice president of communications, Elizabeth Tipton; Michelle Gray and Phyllis Wright’s participation in the National “Member Leader Development” monthly program; Barbara Tubbs for her organization of the league’s program planning session; and Michelle Gray for the luncheon arrangements and discussion with state legislators.

For more information about the League of Women Voters go to www.palwv.org or local contacts – www.lwvwc.org or membership chair Stephanie Scutella at swillia5@gmailcom.