Dragons bow out of D10 singles

ERIE – Four Warren boys tennis players were eliminated on Saturday from the District 10 Class AA Singles Championships at the Pennbriar Club.

Dragons junior Nate Sandberg was seeded first with a 12-0 record in the 35-player event. Ben Auzou earned a No. 8 seed with his 12-0 record at the No. 2 position. Warren’s No. 3 singles man, junior Sean McGuinness, and Noah Colvin represented the Dragons in the qualifier event.

Sandberg defeated Alex Georgescu of Hickory in the first round. In the second round, the Dragon was upset by unseeded Alex Schroeck of Mercyhurst Prep.

“Schroeck went up early with solid groundstrokes and had a 6-1 lead in the eight-game proset,” said Warren coach Jeff Bartsch. “Nate fought back and took five of the next six games, but it wasn’t enough as the MP player survived, 8-6, to eliminate the top seed. Nate played too conservatively in the beginning of the match. At the end, he didn’t take care of his serve.”

Warren exchange student Ben Auzou defeated Alex Barnett (Rocky Grove), 8-0, in the first round; then Josh Schrecengost (Corry), 8-3, in the second round. In the quarterfinals, Auzou’s run in the tournament fell short as the Dragon dropped an 8-0 decision to second-seeded Jon Oskin (0-8), of Fairview.

McGuinness won two qualifier rounds to earn a spot in the main draw where he played Titusville’s No. 2 player Shannon Daugherty and won 8-2. Having won three matches already on the day, McGuinness squared off with No. 3-seeded Kyle Thomas of Harbor Creek and he bowed out with a 8-1 loss.

Sophomore Noah Colvin played in the qualifier as Warren’s No. 4 representative. In that round, Colvin fell, 8-0, to eventual semifinalist Tris Tuttle of Fairview.

The Dragons will now prepare for the D10 Doubles Championships on Wednesday in Erie. Sandberg is half of the defending D10 doubles pair as he won the championship last year with brother, Matt, who graduated.

The Singles Championships will be completed on Monday in Erie with No. 2 Jon Oskin (Fairview) vs. No. 6 Ben Westcott (Fairview) playing for the title.

District 10 Class AA Singles Championships

Preliminary round: Alex Georgescu (Hickory) def. Evan Lowers (Grove City) 8-2; Sean McGuinness (Warren) def. Shannon Daugherty (Titusville) 8-2; Ryan Campbell (Mercyhurst Prep) def. Jacob Van Slyke (Harbor Creek) 8-0.

First round: No. 1 Nate Sandberg (Warren) def. Georgescu (Hickory) 8-1; Alex Schroeck (Mercyhurst Prep) def. Hunter Kelly (Harbor Creek) 8-2; No. 7 Derek Sawyer (General McLane) def. Dylan Cerroni (Sharon) 8-0; Mike Siegel (Fairview) def. Mercer Martin (Greenville) 8-0; No. 3 Kyle Thomas (Harbor Creek) def. McGuinness 8-1; Chris Adams (Grove City) def. Alex Sloane (Corry) 8-3; No. 6 Ben Westcott (Fairview) def. Nickolo Lima (Kennedy Catholic) 8-1; Devin Mason (Girard) def. Jing Wu (Greenville) 8-6; David Taylor (General McLane) def. Eric Campbell (Harbor Creek) 8-6;No. 5 Ross Rosati (Hickory) def. Henry Gent (Rocky Grove) 8-4; Tris Tuttle (Fairview) def. Trent McErlane (Greenville) 8-0; No. 4 Eric Maginnis (Titusville) def. Jesse Kirila (Kennedy Catholic) 8-4; Josh Schrecengost (Corry) def. Vaughn Peters (Girard) 8-3; No. 8 Ben Auzou (Warren) def. Austin Barnett (Rocky Grove) 8-0; John Smaltz (Hickory) def. Seth Jaussen (Greenville) 8-5; No. 2 Jon Oskin (Fairview) def. R.Campbell 8-1.

Second round: Schroeck def. No. 1 Sandberg 8-6; Siegel def. No. 7 Sawyer 8-5; No. 3 Thomas def. Adams 8-0; No. 6 Westcott def. Mason 8-1; No. 5 Rosati def.Taylor 8-6; Tuttle def.No. 4 Maginnis 8-1; No. 8 Auzou def. Schrecengost 8-3; No. 2 Oskin def. Smaltz 8-2.

Quarterfinals: Schroeck def. Siegel 8-6; No. 6 Westcott def. No. 3 Thomas 8-3; Tuttle def. No. 5 Rosati 8-3; No. 2 Oskin def. No. 8 Auzou 8-0.

Semifinals: No. 6 Westcott def. Schroeck 6-2, 7-6 (7-5); No. 2 Oskin def. Tuttle 6-2, 6-0.