Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts hold Pinewood/Powderpuff derby

On March 15, Chief Cornplanter Council wrapped up its 2014 Pinewood Derby race season with the Top Three Race, Youth Open Class Fun Race and an Adult Open Class Race . This year the Girl Scouts joined in the fun. In addition to the 200 Cub Scouts who built and raced cars this year, there were more than 100 Girl Scouts racing in there Annual Powder Puff Races

All of the Pinewood Derby races are held at the Warren Mall and would not be possible if not for the generosity of the mall owners and staff, the support of the Warren Kiwanis Club in the purchase the the new state of the art track and Troop 45 for the new timing system. Sponsors were Shults of Warren, Chrysler Jeep Dodge Subaru, and Dream Boat Marina. Participants thanked the Pinewood Derby Team that has put on the races for the last seven years. Committee chairperson was Al Webster; co-chairpersons were Pat Hamilton and Bob Brown Sr.; and Girl scout volunteer was Rachel Brown.

This year, thanks to Bob Brown Sr. of Troop 45, the races had a unique look with “Racer X Live On Board Camera Car.” The spectators and racers could see the race live from “Racer X” as he raced down the track.

Winners were: Top 3, Overall Cub Scout and Girl Scout: Lexis Drukenbrod, first; Catherine Reynolds, second; and Caleb Barr, third.

Tiger: Owen Auflick, first; Jack McCabe, second; and Ben Scott, third.

Wolf: Noel Didiffer, first; Parker Shene, second; and Brodie Greeley, third.

Bear: Jason Knapp, first; Mason Silvis, second; and Colin Shene, third.

Webelos: John Paige, first; Colton Garris, second; and Cristian Johnson, third.

Girl Scouts: Emma Rarey, first; and Callen Gigliotti, second.

Youth open class: Justin Hamilton, first; Joseph Giglotti, second; and Lilly Devore, third.