FOOTBALL ALL-STARS: 7 first-team all-stars from Eisenhower

Eisenhower’s Alex Johnson was named co-player of the year in Region 2, and six other Knights were first-team Region 2 all-stars when the District 10 all-region football teams were released on Friday afternoon.

Johnson was a first-team pick on both offense and defense as a running back and linebacker, joining Ike teammates Jarrett Johnson (wide receiver), Rob Wilston (quarterback), Jon Shelton (offensive line), Jake Spetz (offensive line, defensive line), Chris Sanders (offensive line, defensive line), and Carter Farrell (defensive back).

Warren had one first-team pick in Region 5 in junior defensive back D. J. Fehlman.

Second-team representatives for Ike were Grant Venman (kicker), Jarrett Johnson (punter), Jared Flaisman (defensive line), Bryce Garris (linebacker), Logan Bellardo (defensive back), and Louie Head (defensive back).

Geoff Stewart (defensive line) and Luke Wortman (linebacker) were second-team selections for the Dragons.

Johnson entered his senior season at Eisenhower with some big shoes to fill after the graduation of all-time rushing leader John Pascuzzi – a first-team pick in 2012. The senior ball carrier Johnson responded with 1,138 yards and 13 rushing touchdowns on 145 carries, averaging nearly eight yards per touch en route to Ike’s second straight Region 2 title. He was also the team’s second leading receiver with 17 catches for 219 yards, and led the Knights with 118 tackles on defense.

Ike’s number one receiver – Jarrett Johnson – racked up 391 yards and seven touchdowns on 22 catches. He was the main target for fellow first-teamer Wilston, who completed 74-of-133 passes for 1,130 yards and 14 touchdowns.

Wilston also chipped in 500 rushing yards and six scores on 108 carries, thanks in large part to the blocking of Shelton, Spetz, and Sanders.

Despite throwing for over 2,000 yards and setting a school record for touchdown passes in a season (30), Fehlman was edged out at quarterback by Slippery Rock’s Jake Whitmer and DuBois’ Gabe French in Region 5. The Dragon junior did make his mark defensively, playing strong from his cornerback position all year.

Wortman, a senior captain, demonstrated big-play ability as a running back, linebacker, and return specialist for the Dragons. Stewart was an anchor on both the offensive and defensive lines in his senior year.

Cambridge Springs running back Colton Noble joined Alex Johnson as Region 2 co-player of the year, while DuBois’ Bryson Paulinellie took the honors in Region 5.

Eisenhower and Warren were both District 10 playoff teams; Ike as the Region 2 champion in Class A for the second straight season, and Warren in Class AAA.

Here is the complete list of Region 2 and Region 5 all-stars, as voted on by the region coaches:

Region 2 All-Stars

First team


Noah Marvin Maplewood 11 TE

Jarrett Johnson Eisenhower 11 WR

Jesse Staudt Cochranton 12 WR

Rob Wilston Eisenhower 12 QB

Colton Noble Cambridge Springs 12 RB

Alex Johnson Eisenhower 12 RB

Garrett Adams Cochranton 12 AP

Jon Shelton Eisenhower 12 OL

Blaine Wolfrom Cambridge Springs 10 OL

Jake Spetz Eisenhower 11 OL

Juston Tapper Cambridge Springs 11 OL

Chris Sanders Eisenhower 11 OL

Special teams

Gavin Hohn Cambridge Springs 12 K

Colton Noble Cambridge Springs 12 P


Jake Spetz Eisenhower 11 DL

Juston Tapper Cambridge Springs 11 DL

Alex Custead Cochranton 12 DL

Blaine Wolfrom Cambridge Springs 10 DL

Chris Sanders Eisenhower 12 DL

Colton Noble Cambridge Springs 12 LB

Eric Baer Mercyhurst Prep 11 LB

Alex Johnson Eisenhower 12 LB

Joe Swanson Mercyhurst Prep 12 LB

Zach Stafford Cambridge Springs 10 DB

Tyshawn Johnson Maplewood 11 DB

Carter Farrell Eisenhower 12 DB

Jesse Staudt Cochranton 12 DB

Second team


Luke LeSuer Cambridge Springs 12 TE

Kristofer Silbaugh Cambridge Springs 10 WR

Matt McLean Iroquois 11 WR

Justin Dahl Maplewood 11 WR

Devin Walker Cambridge Springs 12 QB

Joe Swanson Mercyhurst Prep 12 RB

Miller Peters Maplewood 11 RB

Brandon Roda Iroquois 11 AP

Alex Custead Cochranton 12 OL

Colin States Iroquois 12 OL

Cody Nageotte Cochranton 11 OL

Seth Hiegel Mercyhurst Prep 12 OL

Tyler Johnson Union City 11 OL

Special teams

Grant Venman Eisenhower 10 K

Jarrett Johnson Eisenhower 11 P


Jared Flaisman Eisenhower 12 DL

Colin States Iroquois 12 DL

Cody Nageotte Cochranton 11 DL

Shane Russell Union City 12 DL

Bryce Garris Eisenhower 12 LB

Alex Burgos Iroquois 12 LB

Garrett Adams Cochranton 12 LB

Miller Peters Maplewood 11 LB

Logan Bellardo Eisenhower 11 DB

Louie Head Eisenhower 10 DB

Brody Mangel Union City 11 DB

Jamar Moody Cochranton 12 DB

Tyler Barone Iroquois 9 DB

Region champion – Eisenhower

Region co-players of the year – Alex Johnson, Eisenhower, and Colton Noble, Cambridge Springs

Region 5 All-Stars

First team


Alec Lloyd Meadville 12 TE

Tanner Harris Oil City 11 TE

Bryson Paulinellie DuBois 12 WR

Logan Way Oil City 12 WR

Jake Whitmer Slippery Rock 11 QB

Kevin Daly Oil City 12 RB

Frank Conlon Slippery Rock 12 RB

Frank Serbati Oil City 12 AP

Tyler Fleeger DuBois 12 OL

Quinton Reed Oil City 12 OL

Colten Raabe Slippery Rock 11 OL

Ryan Bosch Slippery Rock 12 OL

Jake Jageman Meadville 12 OL

Special teams

Josh Hnat DuBois 12 K

Trent Zdarko Oil City 12 P


Tyler Fleeger DuBois 12 DL

Colten Raabe Slippery Rock 11 DL

Trent Zdarko Oil City 12 DL

Alec Lloyd Meadville 12 DL

Ryan Bosch Slippery Rock 12 DL

Cameron Neal Slippery Rock 11 DL

Trevor Deibert Oil City 12 LB

Jared McDowell Slippery Rock 11 LB

Adam Bankovich DuBois 10 LB

Jake Jageman Meadville 12 LB

Jesse Rice Oil City 12 DB

Chris Reeseman Slippery Rock 12 DB

D.J. Fehlman Warren 11 DB

Trevor Schwiderske DuBois 12 DB

Second team


Blake Heller Slippery Rock 11 TE

Chris Reeseman Slippery Rock 12 WR

Jesse Rice Oil City 12 WR

Gabe French DuBois 11 QB

Ryan Harkness Meadville 12 RB

Devin Clark DuBois 11 RB

Ryan Lauster Slippery Rock 10 AP

Matt Sopher Oil City 12 OL

Geoff Stewart Warren 12 OL

Matt Lingle DuBois 12 OL

Josh Trimble Meadville 12 OL

Steven Barnes DuBois 12 OL

Special teams

Ty Mooney Franklin 11 K

Mark Cessar Slippery Rock 11 K

Tyler Fleeger DuBois 12 P


Geoff Stewart Warren 12 DL

Matt Sopher Oil City 12 DL

Derek Allen DuBois 12 DL

Mykel McCool Franklin 11 DL

Frank Conlon Slippery Rock 12 LB

Justus Burk Oil City 12 LB

Travis Lauster Slippery Rock 11 LB

Luke Wortman Warren 12 LB

Brady Kadlubek Slippery Rock 11 DB

Ryan Harkness Meadville 12 DB

Jackson McFall Oil City 10 DB

T.J. Troup DuBois 12 DB

Region champion – Slippery Rock

Region player of the year – Bryson Paulinellie, DuBois