Stewart to lead board

The Warren County School District’s board of directors held its annual board organizational meeting Thursday night prior to its regular meeting.

By unanimous vote, Arthur Stewart was elected to resume his role as board president and Donna Zariczny was elected to resume her position as vice president. Both were the only candidates nominated to their respective positions.

The board unanimously voted to reaffirm the adoption of the Pennsylvania School Boards Association’s (PSBA) Standards for Effective School Governance and Code of Conduct for Members of Pennsylvania School Boards.

Also approved unanimously was authorization of payments by board officers for payrolls and payment of bonds, interest, utilities and other bills as they come due.

District Business Director Jim Grosch was unanimously approved to continue to serve as the district representative to Warren County’s Act 32 Tax Collection Committee. Board Treasurer Norbert Kennerknecht was approved as alternate voting delegate to the committee.

The board unanimously approved a meeting schedule for 2014.

Regular board meetings will continue to be held on the second Monday of each month at 7 p.m., with the exception of the December meeting, which is slated for Thursday, Dec. 4.

Board committee meetings will continue to be held on the last Monday of each month at 6 p.m., with the exception of the November meeting, which will be held on Monday, Nov. 17. No December committee meetings are scheduled.

The board then adjourned and went directly into executive session.