Four from Warren named first-team soccer all-stars

It’s no surprise that the 2013 all-region soccer teams feature plenty of athletes from Warren Area High School.

In fact, nothing should be surprising after the Dragon boys turned an 0-7 start into a trip to the state playoffs.

For their efforts this season, Warren junior Quinn Boger and senior Jason Stanton earned first-team honors in Region 4, while seniors Ben Auzou and Tyler Mealy, along with junior Max Gross, were named to the second team.

Junior Morgan Danielson and senior Danielle Smith represented the Lady Dragons with first-team nods, while junior Amy Castagnino, senior Abby Funari, senior Kaitlin Ishman, and sophomore Katlyn Adams made the second team.

Eisenhower senior Ricky Zortman was the only Knight to receive all-region honors, making the second team in a loaded Region 3.

Boger averaged nearly a goal per game with 19 and totaled 123 shots on goal for the District 10 Class AA runner-up Dragons. Auzou – a foreign exchange student from France – chipped in six goals and five assists, Mealy added a goal and an assist, and Gross and Stanton were defensive standouts with 163 and 144 steals, respectively, with Stanton adding one goal.

Zortman was one of just four seniors on a young Eisenhower team that finished the year with a 6-9-1 mark.

For the Lady Dragons, Danielson was the team leader with seven goals en route to her first all-region award. Castagnino notched three goals, Funari two, and Ishman scored one despite suffering an injury early in the year.

Here are the complete Region 3 boys and Region 4 boys and girls all-star teams:


Region 3 All-Stars

First team

(Name, School, Class, Position)

Mitchell Keith, North East, 12, GK

Mac Tompkins, Fairview, 12, OFF

Tyler Shumaker, Mercyhurst Prep, 12, OFF

Alex Schroeck, Mercyhurst Prep, 10, OFF

Tom Martin, North East, 11, OFF

Stanley Chwatek, North East, 12, OFF

Ryan Siggins, Iroquois, 12, OFF

Jacob Kisiel, Mercyhurst Prep, 12, DEF

Geoffrey Mayes, Mercyhurst Prep, 12, DEF

Trung Kitchener, North East, 12, DEF

Michael Borowski, Fairview, 12, DEF

Second Team

Corban Murphey, Fairview, 12, GK

Andrew Valencia, Mercyhurst Prep, 12, OFF

David Michaels, Mercyhurst Prep, 12, OFF

Eric Brockwell, Fairview, 10, OFF

Ricky Zortman, Eisenhower, 12, OFF

Sergio Garnica, Seneca, 12, OFF

Nick Kisiel, Mercyhurst Prep, 10, OFF

Jake Plazony, Fairview, 10, DEF

Glenn Gregory, North East, 12, DEF

Brandon Smith, Iroquois, 12, DEF

Derik Widomski, North East, 12, DEF

Greg Lemke, Seneca, 12, DEF

Region champion – Mercyhurst Prep

Region co-players of the year – Mac Tomkins, Fairview and Tyler Shumaker, Mercyhurst Prep

Region 4 All-Stars

First Team

Freddie Steffen, Corry, 12, GK

Cody Bly, Bradford, 12, OFF

Joshua Schrecengost, Corry, 12, OFF

Matt Schenberg, Saegertown, 12, OFF

John Obermeyer, Bradford, 11, OFF

Bailey Batten, Corry, 12, OFF

Quinn Boger, Warren, 11, OFF

Dustin Coles, Bradford, 12, DEF

Jesse Bates, Saegertown, 12, DEF

Jason Stanton, Warren, 12, DEF

Garrett Dennis, Corry, 12, DEF

Second Team

Cody Hennard, Bradford, 11, GK

Ben Jordan, Bradford, 10, OFF

Justin Wells, Bradford, 12, OFF

Ben Auzou, Warren, 12, OFF

Brody Wood, Corry, 12, OFF

Tyler Mealy, Warren, 12, OFF

Peter Mattocks, Saegertown, 10, OFF

Justin Short, Corry, 12, OFF

Tim Swarzfager, Oil City, 11, OFF

John Higbie, Bradford, 12, DEF

Curtis Northrop, Corry, 12, DEF

Max Gross, Warren, 11, DEF

Lawrence Brumbaugh, Saegertown, 11, DEF

Region champion – Bradford

Region co-players of the year – Freddie Steffen, Corry and Matt Schenberg, Saegertown


Region 4 All-Stars

First Team

Emma Shimek, Villa Maria, 10, GK

Jen Shreve, Mercyhurst Prep, 10, OFF

Morgan Putnam, Villa Maria, 11, OFF

Kyla Dwyer, Mercyhurst Prep, 11, OFF

Emily Schwabenbauer, Villa Maria, 11, OFF

Hannah Marchant, Mercyhurst Prep, 10, OFF

Courtney Deiner, Villa Maria, 12, OFF

Morgan Danielson, Warren, 10, OFF

Eileen Burger, Villa Maria, 12, DEF

Ally Marasco, Bradford, 12, DEF

Danielle Smith, Warren, 12, DEF

Cassie Zimmer, Mercyhurst Prep, 11, DEF

Second Team

Elyza Pilatowski, Mercyhurst Prep, 10, GK

Megan Tinley, Bradford, 12, OFF

Amy Castagnino, Warren, 11, OFF

Abby Funari, Warren, 12, OFF

Amanda Costello, Mercyhurst Prep, 9, OFF

Kaitlin Ishman, Warren, 12, OFF

Taylor McMahon, Villa Maria, 10, OFF

Brooke Butler, Bradford, 12, OFF

Lindsey Friello, Mercyhurst Prep, 9, DEF

Taylor Gushie, Villa Maria, 9, DEF

Julia Lorei, Villa Maria, 10, DEF

Abbie Spitter, Bradford, 11, DEF

Kaitlyn Adams, Warren, 10, DEF

Region champion – Mercyhurst Prep

Region co-players of the year – Jen Shreve, Mercyhurst Preps and Emma Shimek, Villa Maria