CROSS COUNTRY ALL-STARS: Cousins VanGuilder, Messinger first-team all-stars

After a banner year that ended with a trip to the state cross country meet in Hershey, Eisenhower senior Devin VanGuilder and Youngsville freshman Brooke Messinger have been named first-team Region 4 all-stars as voted on by the region’s coaches.

VanGuilder finished 22nd out of 224 runners to earn a medal in the Class A state championship after placing 167th as a sophomore and 51st as a junior. To qualify, he finished 10th out of 285 in the district meet with his best time of the season at 17:02.

Messinger was 42nd out of 206 female runners in her first trip to Hershey. The Lady Eagles’ freshman finished third overall in the District 10 meet.

VanGuilder and Messinger – who are cousins – were the only county runners to qualify for states.

Warren freshman Blake Ristau was close, coming in just two spots behind the cut. For his efforts in his first season of varsity competition, he was named to Region 4’s second team. Making the second team on the girls side were a pair of juniors, Warren’s Anna Falvo and Eisenhower’s Julia Bauer.

Ristau finished 19th out of 101 runners in the District 10 Class AA boys meet, Bauer was 31st out of 115 in Class A girls, and Falvo was 49th out of 103 in Class AA girls.

Gary Olson and Emma Verdonik of North East were the boys and girls region runners of the year, respectively.

Here are the complete Region 4 boys and girls all-star teams:

Region 4 All-Stars


First Team

(Name, School, Class)

Jacob Fuhrman, North East, 12

Jake Lehotsky, Fort LeBoeuf, 9

Noah Mandel, Harbor Creek, 11

Phoenix Myers, Seneca, 9

Gary Olson, North East, 11

Curtis Royek, Corry, 11

Devin VanGuilder, Eisenhower, 11

Second Team

Dylan Bemiss, North East, 9

Paris Enterline, Seneca, 10

Donovan Myers, Seneca, 9

Brad Pier, Fort LeBoeuf, 11

Blake Ristau, Warren, 9

Tyler Stetson, North East, 11

Aaron Taylor, Union City, 10

Region champion – North East

Region runner of the year – Gary Olson, North East


First Team

Alyssa Boyd, Union City, 9

Joelle Klein, North East, 9

Kelsey Leasure, Seneca, 12

Brooke Messinger, Youngsville, 9

Kate McIntosh, North East, 9

Brie Sutherland, Corry, 10

Emma Verdonik, North East, 12

Second Team

Julia Bauer, Eisenhower, 11

Kaitlyn Brace, Seneca, 9

Anna Falvo, Warren, 11

Sabrina Kosnik, Union City, 10

Casey McIntosh, North East, 9

Marissa Mountford, Seneca, 9

Macy Putman, North East, 10

Region champion – North East

Region runner of the year – Emma Verdonik, North East