Warren’s New Mayor

One hundred votes was the difference in the race for mayor of the City of Warren as Republican Maurice Cashman defeated Democrat Dan Ristau in Tuesday’s general election.

Cashman carried five of the six voting precincts in the city, only losing to Ristau by three votes, 119-116, in the southeast precinct. Overall, Cashman received 55 percent, 619 votes, while Ristau collected 45 percent, or 519 votes.

After the votes had been tallied and posted on votewarren.org, Cashman said that he is looking forward to serving in the position.

“There is going to be a lot of work and I’m looking forward to doing that,” he said, reiterating his promise to hold town hall meetings with city residents as well as meet with businesses and merchants from throughout the city.

“I’m appreciative of the voters for the confidence,” he added, “and am appreciative of all the voters who came out to vote one way or another because it’s important to vote. Fortunately, they favored me.”

Cashman will replace Mark Phillips, who has served as mayor since August 2001 and did not run for re-election.

Ristau was unavailable for comment Tuesday night.

All results posted on the website Tuesday night are unofficial.

Also, unofficially, turnout throughout the county was in the area of 17 percent. Write-in votes will be reviewed and counted by the county commissioners who serve as the board of elections in years when their positions are not on the ballot on Friday morning.

With the polls closing at 8 p.m., results were available quickly as all county precincts had reported results by approximately 8:50 p.m.

In other races throughout the county, Pete Allenson was elected Sugar Grove Borough mayor in a 71-53 count over Gregory Wilson.

In Youngsville Borough, there were four council seats open and six candidates on the ballot. The four who were elected are Eric Mineweaser, 181 votes; John Pollow, 181 votes; Pam Olewine, 157 votes and Collette Nelson, 150 votes. Incumbents Robert Olson and Douglas Peterson were the other two candidates.

Incumbent David Goodwill held onto his seat as a Columbus Township supervisor, 164-67, over Paul Pirozzola.

John Phillips, incumbent Pleasant Township supervisor, easily retained his seat, 277-132, over Edwin Atwood.

The sole statewide race was for Superior Court judge. Republican Vic Stabile carried 60 percent of the vote in Warren County, 2,826, over Democrat Jack McVay, Jr.

Several county-wide positions, as well as four seats on the Warren County School District’s board of directors and three seats on Warren City Council, had candidates running unopposed.

Rob Greene received 4,682 votes for Warren County district attorney. Incumbents Coroner Jerry Borden and Prothonotary and Clerk of Courts Susan Kosinski were re-elected unopposed.

On the school board, Paul Mangione and Trish Rosenstein were elected to two vacant seats in Region One. Incumbents Thomas Knapp and Jack Warner, Region Three and Two respectively, were re-elected without opposition. For a two-year seat in Region Three, Marcy Morgan ran unopposed.

Jim Zavinski and John Lewis were re-elected to their seats on Warren City Council. Greg Fraser was also elected to the four-year term vacated by Cashman. That leaves one two-year seat open on council that cannot be determined until write-ins are counted as there were no candidates on the ballot.