Gignac, Sandberg, Smoulder named first-team all-stars


Warren and Eisenhower were well represented on the District 10 boys and girls all-region golf teams with three first-team and two second-team selections for the 2013 season.

Sophomore Andrew Gignac and junior Nathan Sandberg represented the Dragon boys as first-team Region 3 picks, while sophomore Anthony Deppas was named to the second team. Senior Tab Berkhous was the lone selection for the Knights in Region 5, making second-team.

On the girls side, Warren junior Megan Smoulder was named to the first team in Region 3.

Region teams are based off of region stroke averages for the recently completed 2013 season.

After placing second at the District 10 Class AAA tournament, Gignac became the first Warren golfer in over 10 years to advance to the PIAA West Region Tournament and missed qualifying for the state meet by just one stroke. Sandberg finished 10th and Deppas tied for 16th at the D-10 meet. The all-region honor is a first for Deppas, while Sandberg was a first-team pick and Gignac a second-team selection in 2012.

Berkhous was the leader for a young Eisenhower club that made significant strides during the year.

Smoulder was an automatic qualifier for the District 10 Class AAA Girls Championship after finishing the regular season with the second best average in Region 3 behind Lacey Latta of Meadville. The Lady Dragons’ junior finished fourth out of 12 at the district meet to finish the season. She was also named to Region 3’s first-team last year as a sophomore.

Here are the Region 3 and Region 5 boys all-star teams and the Region 3 girls all-star team:


Region 3 All-Stars

First team

Matt Gordon, Grove City, 12

Andrew Gignac, Warren, 10

Nathan Sandberg, Warren, 11

Dalton Zelasco, Meadville, 12

Charlie Holt, Meadville, 11

Kyle Luben, Meadville, 10

Second team

Matt Burchard, Meadville, 9

Anthony Deppas, Warren, 10

Matt Badger, Slippery Rock, 12

Troy McGregor, Oil City, 12

Sam Isacco, Slippery Rock, 10

Zac McCue, Slippery Rock, 11

Region champion – Meadville

Region Golfer of the Year – Matt Gordon, Grove City

Region 5 All-Stars

First team

Matt McCord, Titusville, 11

Eric Maginnis, Titusville, 10

Joey Sonntag, Corry, 11

Taite Foley, Titusville, 11

Nick Eck, Corry, 10

Seth Mehlenbacher, Titusville, 11

Adam Fiorentino, Franklin, 12

Second team

Drew Sorenson, Corry, 11

Nolan Pike, Corry, 12

Matt Benchek, Corry, 11

Zack Richards, Titusville, 10

Tab Berkhous, Eisenhower, 12

Region champion – Titusville

Region Golfer of the Year – Matt McCord, Titusville


Region 3 All-Stars

First team

Lacey Latta, Meadville, 12

Megan Smoulder, Warren, 11

Ellen Eighmy, McDowell, 12

Megan Kaverman, McDowell, 12

Kailey Malady, Meadville, 12

Claire Orr, McDowell, 9

Second team

Lindsey Swanson, McDowell, 11

Julie Capotis, McDowell, 12

Felicia Krasa, Meadville, 12

Abby Moore, Meadville, 12

Region champion – McDowell

Region Golfer of the Year – Lacey Latta, Meadville