New champion fisherman wins PSCFT crown

Chuck Schwab of Tionesta was crowned the 54th Champion Angler at the conclusion of the 2013 tournament.

Schwab previously won the championship in 2002.

Bright skies and perfect fishing conditions made for the perfect weekend in Tidioute from Thursday to Sunday.

There were a total of 250 fishermen registered, and they brought in 296 fish with a combined weight of 890.05 pounds.

Schwab won with 25.38 pounds, and received the First place trophy, $1000 and hats.

Second place winner was George Defrehn of Harrisburg, who had 23.41 pounds, won $250 and a trophy and hats.

Third place was won by Kyle Miller of East Hickory with 21 pounds, won $150, a trophy and hats.

Junior Champion Angler for 2013 was Steve Barnett of East Hickory with 23.41 pounds of fish. Second place winner was Adam Barker of Warren with 23.31 pounds of fish, and Terra Miller of West Hickory won third place with 22.11 pounds of fish.

Oldest Male fisherman was Henry Ursitz, age 91, of Cannonsburg, and the oldest female winner was Ellyn Bartges ,age 53, of Clearwater, Minn.

Only 56 of the 250 registered fishermen brought in fish this year.

Fishing Regulations Co- Chairpersons, Matt Brown and Ben Brown had a great weekend and things went very well this year.

More tournament results will be published this week in the weekly Tidioute column.