Jammers win home opener

JAMESTOWN, N.Y. – The Jamestown Jammers opened their 2013 home schedule in fine fashion Thursday, improving to 3-1 with a 12-6 victory over the Williamsport Crosscutters in front of 1,891 fans at Diethrick Park.

Jamestown wasted little time in jumping ahead for good, scoring in each of their first four times at the dish. The Jammers plated a run apiece in the first and second innings before adding two in the third and three in the fourth while building a 7-2 lead.

Jin-De Jhang homered for the second time this season in the first inning and Jesus Vasquez scored on an RBI groundout from Michael Fransoso in the second to make it 2-0. Danny Collins then delivered a two-run smash in the bottom of the third to push the lead to four. After the Crosscutters (1-3) cut the deficit to two in the top of the fourth, Jamestown responded with a two-run triple by Jodaneli Carvajal in the bottom of the inning and a third run scored on an error to make it a five-run lead, 7-2.

Any hope of a Williamsport comeback was put to rest in the sixth when the Jammers again put three runs on the board, making it 10-2. Elvis Escobar had the big hit of the inning with a two-run triple and Jhang collected his second RBI of the night with a sacrifice fly that plated Escobar.

Williamsport would add four late runs, but Jamestown scored on a wild pitch in the seventh and an error in the eighth to keep the game out of reach.

Jamestown starter Cody Dickson was brilliant, pitching three shutout innings with six strikeouts. The win, however, went to reliever Jackson Lodge who allowed five runs on six hits in four innings of work.

Collins and Edwin Espinal had two hits each for the winners. Carvajal, Escobar, Jhang and Collins all drove in a pair and Jhang, Collins, Fransoso and Jeff Roy scored two runs apiece.

Jamestown returns to action Friday, hosting Williamsport at 7:05 p.m.

Williamsport 000 200 310 – 6 8 4

Jamestown 112 303 11x – 12 9 1

2b-Andrew Knapp (W), Edwin Espinal (J). 3b-Jodaneli Carvajal (J), Elvis Escobar (J). HR-Jin-De Jhang (J), Danny Collins (J), Zach Green (W), Gabriel Lino (W), Angelo Mora (W).WP-Jackson Lodge. LP- Shane Martin.