Greene Gets GOP Nod

Warren County is going Greene.

By over 20 percent, Rob Greene defeated incumbent Ross McKeirnan and candidate Bernard T. Hessley in the Republican primary for district attorney on Tuesday.

Greene tallied 1,735 votes, 56 percent of the total. McKeirnan came in second with 35 percent, 1,076 votes, and Hessley finished last with just seven percent, or 235 votes.

Greene declined to comment on the results after they were posted on Tuesday night.

McKeirnan won Columbus, Southwest and Spring Creek townships in addition to Sugar Grove Borough and the Warren South precinct.

The rest of the map was dominated by Greene.

Greene won the remainder of the City of Warren precincts and beat McKeirnan by over 200 combined votes in the larger municipalities of Conewango, Glade and Pleasant townships.

Hessley was actually shut out in a couple municipalities, failing to garner a vote in Bear Lake Borough and in Cherry Grove and Limestone townships.

With a wealth of positions with no primary challenges, turnout was considerably low. On the Republican side, turnout was approximately 22 percent. With no countywide Democratic candidates to turn out the vote, turnout on that side of the ballot was much closer to 10 percent.

In other races around the county, Vincent Duckett unseated incumbent Charles Barone for Conewango Township supervisor on the Republican side by six votes 137 to 131.

Incumbent Republican Glade Township Supervisor Dave Sedon fended off a challenge from Timothy Hagberg, winning easily by a tally of 154 to 66.

Adam Hennessy won the Republican primary for Sheffield Township Supervisor over H. Richard Hanson, 69 to 48.

On Youngsville Borough Council, Collette Nelson unseated incumbent Doug Peterson in the Democratic primary by a margin of 11 votes, 67-56.

On the Republican side, Eric Mineweaser (154 votes), John Pollow (140 votes) and Pam Olewine (135 votes) were the top vote-getters for three available seats. Mineweaser and Olewine are incumbents and Pollow unseated incumbent Ron Olson, who received 128 votes.

Incumbent Pam McLaughlin beat Robert T. Williams, Sr. for Tidioute mayor, 37-18.