Warren extends Envirothon win streak

For at least the 11th consecutive year, a varsity team from Warren Area High School took top honors in the Warren County Envirothon.

Team Aeshnidae members Shane Burns, Caleb Hultman, Jake Newbill, Shoshanna Ochocki and Meghan Stewart were the varsity champions.

WAHS team Libellulidae consisting of Brandon Nielson, Michael Card, Emmi Beuger, Tyler Winters, and Eric Zavinski captured second place. The teams took their names from families of dragonflies.

Zach Chapman, Alyssa Samuelson, Mitchell Downs, Abbie Downs, and Russell Loizeaux, competing as the Warren County Homeschoolers Incredibles, took third place. Their team advisor is Robyn Samuelson.

Desi McHesney, Nadine O’Conner, Curtis Lewis, Cody Sitterly, and Aubrey Sonney of Tidioute Community Charter School’s Dominating Dragons took fourth place,; the team advisors are Andrew Waugaman and Matt Irons.

In the junior varsity competition, Adam Barker, Jarrett Brown, Brenyn Whyte, Blake Ristau, and Maddie Mineweaser of the Beaty Timber Rattlers finished first, and Abigail Root, Tommy Jones, Marcus Root, Josh Jones, and Brian Zortman of the Warren County Christian School’s Abby’s Machines took second. Their advisors are Wendy Gray and John Lewis, respectively.

The names of the WAHS team in the front page photo were inadvertently excluded in last Saturday’s Times Observer, and the teams from Eisenhower Middle High School should have been included in the story.