WRESTLING ALL-STARS: Fehlman named first-team all-star

It was a special wrestling season for the county with each of District 10’s three county teams sending a wrestler to the PIAA Wrestling Championships in Hershey.

The 2012-13 wrestling season officially came to a close Friday with the release of District 10 and region all-star teams.

While no county wrestlers were named to the All-District 10 team, a total of four county wrestlers – Warren’s D.J. Fehlman and Alex Streich, Youngsville’s Jaykup Durlin and Eisenhower’s Louie Head – were included on region all-star teams. Region all-star teams are selected by a vote of the region’s coaches.

Leading the way for the county was the 126-pound Warren sophomore Fehlman. In a season where Fehlman won his second straight District 10 Class AAA title and punched his first ticket to states, he was honored as the Region 4 wrestler of the year – as well as a Region 4 first-team all-star.

Backing up a freshman season that saw him set a new Warren record for wins by a ninth-grader (33), Fehlman emerged as one of the state’s best 126-pounders by winning 32 of his first 33 bouts on the season. He would go on to lose the championship bout at the PIAA Class AAA Northwest Regional in Altoona as well as his first two matches in Hershey, but the tough ending did little to take away from an impressive 32-4 campaign.

After his first two seasons at Warren, Fehlman has an overall record of 65-8 – a winning percentage of 89 percent. The all-star selection was his second in a row after being named a second-team all-star at 120 pounds in 2011-12.

Joining Fehlman on the Region 4 all-star list was his teammate and classmate in sophomore 220-pounder Alex Streich. After a tough 7-17 campaign as a freshman, Streich was a pleasant surprise for the Dragons in 2012-13.

While compiling a strong 27-9 season, Streich finished second at the District 10 Class AAA Championships in Erie, advancing to the Northwest Regional in Altoona where his season ultimately came to a close. The all-star selection is the first of Streich’s career.

Youngsville’s 220-pound PIAA qualifying junior Durlin was also named a Region 3 all-star for the first time with his second-team selection. Durlin had plenty of success during his first two seasons as an Eagle (winning 47 matches), but soared to new heights in 2012-13.

Durlin finished the season 34-8, upping his career win total to 81, and placed among the top four in three straight postseason tournaments. Durlin was second at sections in Union City, fourth at districts in Sharon and advanced to Hershey for the first time with a third-place finish at regionals.

In Hershey, Durlin fell one victory short of winning a PIAA medal, going 1-2 against the best 220-pounders in the state.

Eisenhower’s lone all-star was Head – a freshman 145-pounder that was named to the Region 3 second-team. Head finished his first season at Eisenhower with a 24-14 record and became the first Knight freshman to reach the regional level in nearly two decades.

Head placed second at sections in February and escaped districts by placing sixth. His season ultimately came to an end with an 0-2 showing at regionals.

Perhaps the most glaring omission from the Region 3 all-star team (chosen by region coaches voting) was Eisenhower senior Jake Johnson.

Johnson finished his senior season with a record of 31-11, advancing all the way to states where he – like Durlin – fell one win short of a PIAA medal. Johnson finished his career as one of the winningest Knights in program history, winning 106 matches.

Here are the District 10 and Region 3 and 4 all-star teams for the recently completed season:

District 10 All-star Team

(Weight, name, school, year)

106 Devin Brown Saegertown 10

113 Jake Gromacki Cathedral Prep 11

120 Tyler Vath Saegertown 10

126 Jarray Norris Sharon 12

132 Nick Gibson McDowell 12

138 Mike Bonner Sharon 11

145 Levi Stoyer Reynolds 11

152 Austin Matthews Reynolds 12

160 Tyree Spearman McDowell 11

170 Tim Vargo Union City 12

182 Dylan Reynolds Saegertown 10

195 Trevor Beiter Seneca 12

220 Cam Cyphert Cochranton 12

220 Evan Daley Fort LeBoeuf 12

285 Sam Breese Lakeview 11

Region 3 All-stars

First team

(Weight, name, school, year)

106 Devin Brown Saegertown 10

113 Jarrett Carter Fort LeBoeuf 9

120 Tyler Vath Saegertown 10

126 Nick Monico Saegertown 9

132 George McGuire Fort LeBoeuf 11

138 Adam Fish Seneca 9

145 Kevin Pier Seneca 12

152 Taylor Harrington Fort LeBoeuf 12

160 Taylor Fox Fort LeBoeuf 12

170 Tim Vargo Union City 12

182 Dylan Reynolds Saegertown 10

195 Trevor Beiter Seneca 12

220 Evan Daley Fort LeBoeuf 12

285 Jeff Burger Union City 12

Second team

106 Justin Kita Harbor Creek 9

113 Logan Gray North East 9

120 Cyle Yaple Seneca 12

126 Dustin Tomcho Union City 10

132 Chris Hibbler Seneca 9

138 Matt Humes Saegertown 11

145 Louie Head Eisenhower 9

152 Matt Newara Harbor Creek 11

160 Jordan Bryan North East 11

170 Shane Taubert Corry 12

182 Cody Thomas Union City 12

195 Ryan Morris Corry 12

220 Jaykup Durlin Youngsville 11

Region champion – Fort LeBoeuf

Region wrestler of the year – Evan Daley, Fort LeBoeuf

Region 4 All-stars

First Team

(Weight, name, school, year)

106 Joe Wheeling General McLane 11

113 Jake Gromacki Cathedral Prep 11

120 Paul Deitz McDowell 12

126 D.J. Fehlman Warren 10

132 Nick Gibson McDowell 12

138 Shawn Spearman McDowell 11

145 Cody Nolan McDowell 12

152 Mike Sutton General McLane 11

160 Ehrin Lee Titusville 11

170 Tyler Hendricks General McLane 12

182 Chris Laird General McLane 11

195 Alex Thayer General McLane 12

220 Jake Blaker General McLane 12

285 Andrew Welton Central Tech 12

Second team

106 Charlie Lenox McDowell 9

113 Benji Yates McDowell 10

120 Kyle Luben Meadville 9

126 Keller Watkins General McLane 10

132 Deane Twitchell General McLane 11

138 Ken Stoll General McLane 11

145 Kyle Sult General McLane 9

152 Dan Krysiak Cathedral Prep 12

160 Ossie Bowers General McLane 12

170 Louis Crawford Meadville 11

182 Phil Selker Cathedral Prep 9

195 Seth Brown Central Tech 11

220 Alex Streich Warren 10

285 Scot Augustine McDowell 11

Region champion – General McLane

Region wrestler of the year – D.J. Fehlman, Warren