County OKs liquid fuels revenue to municipalities

The Warren County Commissioners approved a resolution allocating approximately $155,000 in 2013 liquid fuels applications for all the county’s municipalities during their Wednesday morning meeting.

Funds will be distributed to the municipalities in June and December, according to the ordinance.

“This is one of those things we do every year,” Commissioner John Bortz said. “We had a brief conference with our chief clerk relative to the allocations and what we’ll receive. This is just kind of taking care of business.”

Commissioner John Eggleston said part of the gas tax is collected by the state when gas is purchased “where it is allocated back to us on the basis of miles of roads and we allocate it on the same formula.”

The commissioners released the liquid fuels allocations to the following municipalities: Brokenstraw, $8,906; Cherry Grove, $836; Columbus, $11,918; Conewango, $8,891; Deerfield, $4,517; Eldred, $8,006; Elk, $3,613; Farmington, $10,078; Freehold, $10,006; Glade, $5,101; Limestone, $2,344; Mead, $3,375; Pine Grove, $7,130; Pittsfield, $6,624; Pleasant, $4,237; Sheffield, $3,914; Southwest, $6,488; Spring Creek, $10,706; Sugar Grove Township, $11,253; Triumph, $5,718; Watson, $518; Bear Lake, $354; Clarendon, $591; Sugar Grove Borough, $828; Tidioute, $1,908; Youngsville, $2,493; City of Warren, $14,646.

The commissioners also approved the reallocation of $46,005.86 in Community Development Block Grant program funds for $28,008.74 into the administration of the CDBG program and $17,917.12 into the Sheffield Municipal Authority’s Sewer Line Extension.

The commissioners also approved an agreement for $4,378 with the Employee Assistance Program. Bortz said the agreement provides consultation services for employees on a number of issues.

A three-year agreement with Insight Technology to provide information technology services to the county was approved by the commissioners pending approval from the county’s solicitor.

Three repository tax bids for parcels in Columbus Township were approved for $300 each to James Banister.

A resolution was also passed establishing the Warren County Visitors Bureau as the recognized tourist promotion agency.

A number of reappointments and appointments were also made by the commissioners:

James Decker was reappointed as the private representative to the Northwest Regional Planning Commission board.

John Bowler and Jean Walker were reappointed for five-year terms on the Warren County Hospital Authority.

Lauri Sekerak was appointed to the Warren County Planning and Zoning Commission.